Waiting on Wednesday: Closer to the Heart (Herald Spy #2)


Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking The Spine.com, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This weeks can’t-wait-to-read is:closertothe heart

Closer to The Heart

Herald Spy #2

by Mercedes Lackey

10 . 06 . 2015

From GoodReads: 

Mags was a Herald of Valdemar. But he had once lived the brutal life of a child slave. When he was Chosen by his Companion Dallen, his young life was saved, and he slowly adjusted to being well fed, educated, and treasured as a trainee in the Herald’s Collegium at Haven. Singled out by the King’s Own Herald, Mags would thrive in his secret training as a spy. His unusually strong Gift—an ability to Mindspeak and Mindhear anyone, not just others who were Gifted—made him a perfect undercover agent for the king.

Sequel to Mercedes Lackey’s Closer to Home, this adventure continues Mags’s journey as Valdemar’s herald spy.


Why I am waiting…

Mercedes Lackey is one of my favorite authors.  I’ve reread her books so many times I have lost count.  I love that she writes all of her novels in the same universe — I hate saying goodbye to beloved characters, and this way, I don’t need to! I really enjoy that each of her main characters have slightly different gifts.  Not all of them are incredibly powerful (like Vanyel, or Mags) some (like Karal and Skiff) are just talented, compassionate, and smart.  She includes as much politics  and intrigue as adventure.  Its a great series!  October can’t come soon enough!

Waiting On Wednesday: The House of the Four Winds


“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking The Spine.com, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

The weeks pre-publication “can’t-wait-to-read” is:


The House of the Four Winds

Book One of One Dozen Daughters

by Mercedes Lackey and James Mallory

08 . 05 . 14

From GoodReads.com

The rulers of tiny, impoverished Swansgaard have twelve daughters and one son. While the prince’s future is assured, his twelve sisters must find their own fortunes.

Disguising herself as Clarence, a sailor, Princess Clarice intends to work her way to the New World. When the crew rebels, Clarice/Clarence, an expert with rapier and dagger, sides with the handsome navigator, Dominick, and kills the cruel captain.

Dominick leads the now-outlawed crew in search of treasure in the secret pirate haven known as The House of Four Winds. They encounter the sorceress Shamal, who claims Dominick for her own—but Clarice has fallen hard for Dominick and won’t give him up without a fight.

Full of swashbuckling adventure, buoyant magic, and irrepressible charm, The House of the Four Winds is a lighthearted fantasy romp by a pair of bestselling writers.


Why I am waiting…

Honestly, I wasn’t waiting on this until about 10 minutes ago.  I had NO idea that this novel was coming out.  Mercedes Lackey is one of my favorite authors.  I love her Valdemar series the most, but all of her other series have been really awesome as well.  I am reading her newest book “Blood Red” right .  It is fanfantastic! The description for this new novel sounds incredible though..who doesn’t love a combination of princess, pirates, and swashbuckling.

I haven’t read anything by James Mallory yet, but I am looking forward to finding a new author!

If you like fantasy with a bit of romance, you need to read Mercesdes Lackey!



Waiting on Wednesday: Victories



“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking The Spine.com, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.


The weeks pre-publication “can’t-wait-to-read” is:




Shadow Grail #4

by Mercedes Lackey and Rosemary Edgehill

04 . 22 . 2014


Why I am waiting:

I picked up this series because I really enjoy Mercedes Lackey as a writer.  I have read more than 50 of her books and enjoyed them all!  Unlike most of her other books, this is a YA series.  To get an idea of the series you would have to picture Mists of Avalon meets Harry Potter and Kelley Armstrong’s Darkest Powers series.  So, if you like the King Author mythos and enjoy stories about schools for magically gifted teens you will really enjoy this one!  I thought that this series was incredibly original (though it did remind me a little bit of Avalon High).  I love the characters and cannot wait to see how the story ends.  I just finished reading Sacrifices, Shadow Grail #3–it had been sitting on my shelf for so long,but I just kept putting it off because I knew once I finished it I would be anxious for the next book in the series.

Again, I didn’t post the synopsis because there are some serious spoilers. So,  here is the synopsis from Legacies, Shadow Grail #1.  


From GoodReads: 

Legacies  Who—or what—is stalking the students at Oakhurst Academy?

In the wake of the accident that killed her family, Spirit White is spirited away to Oakhurst Academy, a combination school and orphanage in the middle of Montana. There she learns she is a legacy—not only to the school, which her parents also attended, but to magic.

All the students at Oakhurst have magical powers, and although Spirit’s hasn’t manifested itself yet, the administrators insist she has one. Spirit isn’t sure she cares. Devastated by the loss of her family, she finds comfort with a group of friends: Burke Hallows, Lachlann Spears, Muirin Shae, and Adelaide Lake.

But something strange is going on at Oakhurst. Students start disappearing under mysterious circumstances, and the school seems to be trying to cover it up. Spirit and her friends must find out what’s happening—before one of them becomes the next victim…

The Shadow Grail Series

(Click on the link for the GoodReads page and synopsis)





What are you waiting on….?

Waiting on Wednesday: Bastion



New WoW

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking The Spine.com, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

The weeks pre-publication “can’t-wait-to-read” is:



Book 5 of the Collegium Chronicles

by Mercedes Lackey

10 . 01 . 2013


From Amazon.com

Mags returns to the Collegium, but there are mixed feelings–his included–about him actually remaining there.  No one doubts that he is and should be a Herald, but he is afraid that his mere presence is going to incite more danger right in the heart of Valdemar. The heads of the Collegia are afraid that coming back to his known haunt is going to give him less protection than if he went into hiding. Everyone decides that going elsewhere is the solution for now. So since he is going elsewhere–why not return to the place he was found in the first place and look for clues? And those who are closest to him, and might provide secondary targets, are going along. With Herald Jadrek, Herald Kylan (the Weaponsmaster’s chosen successor), and his friends Bear, Lena, and Amily, they head for the Bastion, the hidden spot in the hills that had once been the headquarters of a powerful band of raiders that had held him and his parents prisoner. But what they find is not what anyone expected.


Mercedes Lackey’s books were some of the first fantasy books I was ever hooked on– thanks to my older brother.   He harassed me for months until I read the Arrows of the Queen series.  He said I would love them, and I did — one of the (only) times he was right.  Lackey continues to write great stories set in the Valdemar world.  While they are not always as fantastic as her earlier Valdemar books, they are still pretty good, and I always look forward to reading them!